Cornell Hospitality Innovator Award

The Cornell Hospitality Innovator Award is a tribute to the extraordinary leaders who have developed new approaches to hospitality industry enterprises. The Cornell Peter and Stephanie Nolan School of Hotel Administration presents the award at the annual Cornell Hospitality Icon & Innovator Awards Celebration.

2024 Award Recipient

The Leland C. and Mary M. Pillsbury Institute for Hospitality Entrepreneurship (PIHE) and the Cornell Peter and Stephanie Nolan School of Hotel Administration have selected Chef José Andrés and Rob Wilder, co-founders of José Andrés Group and World Central Kitchen, to receive the 2024 Cornell Hospitality Innovator of the Industry Award. 

Jose Andres

Chef José Andrés

Co-Founder, José Andrés Group and World Central Kitchen
Rob Wilder

Rob Wilder

Co-Founder, José Andrés Group and World Central Kitchen

Past Award Recipients

Mia Kyricos

Mia Kyricos, MMH '03 (2023)

Chief Love Officer (CEO) of Kyricos & Associates

Elizabeth Blau, MS '97 (2022)

CEO, Blau & Associates
Andrew Fey

Andrew J. Fay ‘87 (2019)

President, The Gettys Group
Roger Hill

Roger G. Hill ‘87 (2019)

Chairman and CEO, The Gettys Group
Tim Hentschel

Tim Hentschel '01 (2018)

Co-Founder and CEO, Hotel Planner
John Zimmer

John Zimmer '06 (2017)

Co-Founder and President, Lyft
Ted Teng

Ted Teng '79 (2016)

President and CEO, The Leading Hotels of the World
Damian Mogavero

Damian J. Mogavero (2015)

Founder and CEO, Avero
Sandy Solmon

Sandy Solmon (2014)

Founder, President, and CEO, Sweet Street Desserts
Steve Ells

Steve Ells (2013)

Founder, Chairman, and Co-CEO, Chipotle Mexican Grill
Kathleen “Katie” Taylor

Kathleen “Katie” Taylor (2012)

President and CEO, Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts
Drew Nieporent

Drew Nieporent '77 (2011)

Founder and Owner, Myriad Restaurant Group
Solomon Kerzner

Solomon Kerzner (2010)

Founder, Chairman, and CEO Kerzner, International Holdings
Frederic Malek

Frederic Malek (2009)

CEO, TIG Global
Trip Schneck

Trip Schneck (2009)

President, TIG Global
Larry Reinstein

Larry Reinstein '77 (2006)

Fresh City
Bob Alter

Bob Alter '73 (2008)

Chairman, Sunstone Hotel Investors
Gary Mendell

Gary Mendell '79 (2007)

Chairman and CEO, HEI Hotels and Resorts
Stephen Mendell

Stephen Mendell '82 (2007)

Executive Vice President, HEI Hotels and Resorts
Jay H. Shah

Jay H. Shah '90 (2007)

CEO Hersha, Hospitality Trust
Chuck Mund

Chuck Mund '51 (2006)

CEO, Mega Management
Bruce Reinstein

Bruce Reinstein '79 (2006)

Fresh City