Cornell Hospitality Icon & Innovator Awards

13th Annual Cornell Hospitality Icon and Innovator awards

June 7, 2022 | 6:00 p.m. | Ziegfeld Ballroom | 141 W. 54th Street | NYC

Register for the event


Thank you to our 2022 sponsors:

Diamond Sponsors

Hilton Logo
Stonebridge Logo

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Thank you to the above companies for your support for the tenacious pursuit of excellence and innovation. To learn about opportunities to support this prestigious celebration of achievement, please contact Jennifer Mayo ’13 (CALS), director of external relations, Cornell SC Johnson College of Business, at or 607.255.3101.

About the Cornell Icon of the Industry Award

The Cornell Icon of the Industry Award honors the lifetime achievements of hospitality and travel industry visionaries, for their professional and philanthropic contributions that have transformed the global industry and society.

Past Award Recipients


Randy Smith (2021)

Co-founder and Former Chairman, STR
Chris Nassetta headshot

Chris Nassetta (2019)

President and CEO, Hilton Worldwide
Arne Sorenson

Arne Sorenson (2018)

President and CEO, Marriott International
Isadore Sharp

Isadore Sharp (2016)

Founder and Chairman, Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts
Barry S. Sternlicht

Barry S. Sternlicht (2015)

Chairman and CEO, Starwood Capital Group
The Mariani Family

The Mariani Family (2014)

The Mariani Family &
Banfi Vintners (2014)

James Mariani MBA ’91
Virginia Mariani-Kitt ’82
Harry Mariani
Cristina Mariani-May
John Mariani ’54 (not pictured)

Tom Pritzker

Tom Pritzker (2013)

Executive Chairman, Hyatt Hotels Corporation
The Tisch Familiy

The Tisch Family (2012)

The Tisch Family (2012)
James S. Tisch ’75
Andrew H. Tisch ’71
Jonathan M. Tisch

Charles F. Feeney

Charles F. Feeney '56 (2010)

Co-Founder, Duty Free Shoppers; Founding Chairman,The Atlantic Philanthropies
J.W. Marriott, Jr.

J.W. Marriott, Jr. (2009)

Chairman & CEO, Marriott International, Inc.

About the Cornell Hospitality Innovator Award

The Cornell Hospitality Innovator Award honors extraordinary leaders who have created, built, or sustained contemporary, market-leading innovation in hospitality and travel enterprises.

View past Cornell Hospitality Innovator Award recipients