Decision Sciences Institute Honors CHR Scholars’ Research

Congratulations to Cornell graduates Michael Dixon and Xiaoqing (Kristine) Xie for each earning honorable mentions from the Decision Sciences Institute for their doctoral dissertations. In its Distinguished Track Papers, DSI also cited a study by María-del-Val Segarra-Oña and Ángel Pieró-Signes, who were CHR visiting scholars, with Rohit Verma, a CHR fellow and former executive director. Thanks to the sponsorship of the CHR’s partners, the center financially supported these scholars’ research.

Dixon’s dissertation, “Sequence Effects in Evaluating, Scheduling, and Designing Service Bundles” was completed at Cornell, with Professor Verma as his advisor. Dixon is now on the faculty of the Naval Postgraduate School. Among his CHR publications is “Customer Preferences for Restaurant Technology Innovations,” a Cornell Hospitality Report co-authored with Professors Sheryl Kimes and Rohit Verma.

Xie’s advisor was Associate Professor Chris Anderson, and her Cornell dissertation is “Selling and Pricing on Online Opaque Channels.” With Professor Anderson, she contributed an article to mark the 50th anniversary of the Cornell Hospitality Quarterly: “Improving Hospitality Industry Sales: Twenty-Five Years of Revenue Management.” She is now at the Shanghai University of Finance & Economics.

Segara-Oña, Pieró-Signes (Universitat Politecnica de Valencia) and Verma were honored as distinguished paper for Service Operations track for “U.S. Touristic Clusters: The Impact of Geographic Effect on a Hotel’s Economic Performance.” While at Cornell they co-authored a Cornell Hospitality Report on the topic: “Environmental Management Certification and Performance in the Hospitality Industry: A Comparative Analysis of ISO14001 Hotels in Spain.”

The Decision Sciences Institute (DSI) is a professional organization of academicians and practitioners interested in the application of quantitative and behavioral methods to the problems of society. Each year at its annual meeting, DSI recognizes outstanding research, teaching, and service in the decision sciences.