Cornell Hospitality Icon & Innovator Awards

Join us for the 10th annual Cornell Hospitality Icon & Innovator Awards:

June 5, 2018
The Pierre Hotel
2 E 61st St
New York, New York 10065

2017 event photo gallery

Congratulations to the 2017 Cornell Hospitality Innovator:

John Zimmer

John Zimmer '06

Co-founder and president

The Hotel School rescinds 2017 Hospitality Icon Award

Corporate Supporters

The following companies display their support for the tenacious pursuit of excellence and innovation:

Premier Media Support

USA Today


Castello Banfi


Access Point Financial
Cornell Hotel Society
Flag Luxury
Hersha Hospitality Trust
Hilton Worldwide
The Leading Hotels of the World
Marriott International
Stonebridge Companies
Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces


Eastdil Secured
Wyndham Hotel Group

To learn about opportunities to support this prestigious celebration of achievement, please contact Jennifer Macera, CALS '13, director of external relations, Cornell SC Johnson College of Business, at or 607.255.3101.

View photos from the 2016 event


The Cornell Icon of the Industry

The Cornell Icon of the Industry Award honors the lifetime achievements of hospitality and travel industry visionaries, for their professional and philanthropic contributions that have transformed the global industry and society.

Past Award Recipients

Isadore Sharp

Isadore Sharp (2016)

Founder and Chairman
Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts

Barry S. Sternlicht

Barry S. Sternlicht (2015)

Chairman and CEO
Starwood Capital Group

The Mariani Family

The Mariani Family

The Mariani Family & 
Banfi Vintners (2014)

James Mariani MBA '91
Virginia Mariani-Kitt '82
Harry Mariani
Cristina Mariani-May
John Mariani '54 (not pictured)

Tom Pritzker

Tom Pritzker (2013)

Executive Chairman
Hyatt Hotels Corporation

The Tisch Family

The Tisch Familiy (2012)

The Tisch Family (2012)
James S. Tisch '75 
Andrew H. Tisch '71 
Jonathan M. Tisch

Charles F. Feeney '56

Charles F. Feeney '56 (2010)

Co-Founder, Duty Free Shoppers;
Founding Chairman,
The Atlantic Philanthropies

J.W. Marriott, Jr.

J.W. Marriott, Jr. (2009)

Chairman & CEO
Marriott International, Inc.

The Cornell Hospitality Innovator 

The Cornell Hospitality Innovator Award honors extraordinary leaders who have created, built, or sustained contemporary, market-leading innovation in hospitality and travel enterprises. View past Cornell Hospitality Innovator Award recipients.