Parents/Families

Parents, guardians, and family members are also part of the Cornell community. You all have vital roles to play in helping to create an even more caring, supportive, and healthful environment for your college student. The 2016-2017 Family Guide includes information for families regarding your student's transition to college, academics, student life on campus, and so much more. Please use this guide as you support your student's journey at Cornell.

School of Hotel Administration Spring 2018 Orientation

Thursday, January 18 - Tuesday, January 23

Orientation Highlights

  • Thursday afternoon: New Student Check-In and Welcome Reception (for parents and students)
  • Thursday night: First Night - students connect with their orientation leader
  • Friday morning: College information and advising sessions

Key Academic Dates for the 2017-2018 Calendar

  • Labor Day/Holiday/No Classes: Monday, September 4, 2017
  • Fall 2017 Final Exam Schedule Available: Friday, September 8, 2017
  • Fall Break (begins 1:10 p.m.): Saturday, October 7 - Tuesday, October 10, 2017
  • Thanksgiving Recess: Wednesday, November 23 - Sunday, November 27, 2017
  • Last Day of Classes: Friday, December 1, 2017
  • Exams: Wednesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 14, 2017

Make Reservations Now

Because Ithaca is a small community, it is wise to make travel plans early for Orientation, and for other large university events including First-Year Parents' Weekend, October 27-29, 2017. Visit Ithaca provides comprehensive travel and lodging information.

Frequently Asked Questions

Please consult our FAQ for some suggestions about effective ways to interact with your student.

Information and Resources

Stay Informed

Health and Safety