2016 Faculty and Student Awards Celebration

Rick Adie '75, Peter Carrera '16, and Cheryl Cox at the 2016 Drown Prize Luncheon

Peter Carrera '16, recipient of the 2016 Joseph Drown Special Prize, is joined by Rick Adie '75 and Cheryl Cox, general manager and front office manager (respectively) of the Statler Hotel.

The 2016 Faculty and Student Awards Celebration, held May 5, recognized outstanding achievements for the 2015-2016 academic year.

This annual event honors students representing a broad cross-section of SHA programs, and recognizes faculty for distinguished research and excellence in teaching.

Congratulations to this year's winners!

Faculty Teaching Recognition Awards

  • Chris Boone, assistant professor, employment relations, human resources and law - freshman core
  • Helen Chun, assistant professor, services marketing - sophomore core
  • Maria Wolfe, senior lecturer, management communication - junior/senior core
  • Cheryl Stanley, lecturer, food and beverage management - undergraduate elective
  • Walter Boudry, assistant professor, real estate - graduate elective
  • Stephani Robson, senior lecturer, properties development and management - graduate core

Ted Teng '79 Dean's Teaching Excellence Awards

  • Tony Simons, professor, management and organizational behavior
  • Pam Moulton, associate professor, finance
  • Susan Fleming, senior lecturer, entrepreneurship

CHR Industry Relevance Awards

  • Chekitan Dev, associate professor, services marketing - "Hotel Brand Conversions: What works and What Doesn't"
  • Robert J. Kwortnik, associate professor, services marketing and Heather Linton, PhD student, marketing - "The Mobile Revolution Is Here: Are you Ready?"

Student Awards

Degree Marshalls

  • Fred Ho '16 - first degree marshall
  • Megan Anne Trillo '16 - second degree marshall

Banner Bearers

  • Ryan Christopher Helkowski '16 - first banner bearer
  • Macarena Moreno '16 - second banner bearer

College Symbol Bearer

  • Nicholas Garlow Nelson '16

Merrill Presidential Scholars

  • Nicholas Garlow Nelson '16
  • Samuel D. Clement '16

Joseph Drown Special Prize

  • Peter Carrera '16

Joseph Drown Special Prize Finalists

  • David Fitzpatrick '16
  • Zoe LaClair '16
  • Macarena Moreno '16
  • Megan Trillo '16

Banfi Vintners Foundation Scholastic Tour Award

  • Lauren Avery King '16

Julius Wile Commanderie de Bordeaux aux États Unis d’Amérique Bordeaux Education Prize

  • Davana A. Bolton '16

R.C. Kopf Student Achievement Award

  • William C. Kinney Jr. '16
  • Justin R. Meselsohn '16

The Leading Hotels of The World Experiential Award

  • Taylor Meadows '16
  • Remi Zimmerman '16

AH&LA Student Chapter of the Year

  • Bethany Huan '17 - president
  • Hanson Zhang '16 - vice president
  • Vivian (Mingxin) Li '18 - secretary
  • Albert Lin '18 - treasurer
  • Gabi Forss '16 - director of marketing
  • Magnus Giaever '17 - director of external communications
  • Alberta Liao '16 - director of fundraising

Cornell Hospitality Business Plan Competition hosted by the Pillsbury Institute for Hospitality Entrepreneurship

Place and Prize Amount Team Members
First Place Prize - Tie ($25,000) Last Second Beach Owen Buehler, Eng '16
Zach Demuth, MMH '16
Harrison Goldstein, Eng '18
Khalid Ladha, MMH '16
First Place Prize - Tie ($25,000) Maidbot Alex Levy '18
Third Place Prize ($5,000) Chill Hannah Basra '17
Joseph Bell '17
W. Spenser Cardenas '17
David Luo '17

Stephen S.J. Hall Ethics Case Competition

Place Team Members
First Ethical Ezra Nelson Billington '19
Varun Devatha '19
Timothy Buttigieg '19
Second Insentra Sam Clement '16
Thomas Albert, Eng
Third Castitas Peter Carrera '16
Patrick Tan '16
Edward Gong, Eng '16
Fourth Gold Team Shaina Arsenault '19
Jamie Kim '19
Morgan Train '19
Arun Yagnamurthy '19

Cornell Hotel Society - Collegiate Chapter

  • SHA Clubs - Outstanding Contribution and Leadership Award - Macarena Moreno '16
  • Senior Spirit Award - Jerry Zhang '16

HSMAI - Marketing Case Competition

  • Nicole Kwok '19
  • Katie Lee '19
  • Natalie Leung '19
  • Austin Lee '18

ACEF/SHA Writing Awards - Academic Year 2014-2015

  • Ralph Price '17, Kayti Stanley '18, and John Thavornwongwongse '18
    "Uber-Aggressive Market Entry Tactics"
    HADM 1650 - Management Communication 1
    Nominated by Senior Lecturer Maria Wolfe
  • Fred Ho '16
    "Site Analysis - Best Western Relocation"
    HADM 2550 - Hospitality Development and Planning
    Nominated by Senior Lecturer Stephani Robson

HEC Unsung Hero Awards

  • David Castellanos '18
  • Samantha Chiusano '17
  • Megan Guefen '19
  • Sarah Monahan '19
  • Andrew Vinegar '18

More Spotlights

service excellence

Service Excellence Online Training

Cornell University Launches New Service Excellence On-Demand Training for groups and organizations.

Read more »

Sign up now to meet with one of our Entrepreneurs in Residence

Check out our fall line up and sign up to meet with an entrepreneur!

Read more »
Thomas Gisler, director of food and beverage for the Statler Hotel

Statler Hotel promotes Chef Thomas Gisler to director of food & beverage

Statler Hotel promotes Chef Thomas Gisler to director of food & beverage

Read more »
Marco Benvenuti

Hotelie Inspires New Generation of Hotelies at DDLS

Marco Benvenuti, MMH '05, co-founder of Duetto, told students attending the Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series to embrace what makes them unique.

Read more »
Roundtable participants

The Really Big Idea Sketchpad Approach to the Technology Hospitality Entrepreneurship Roundtable

More than two dozen industry leaders met in Ithaca, NY, in April 2018 for the Really Big Idea Sketchpad Approach to the Technology Hospitality Entrepreneurship Roundtable.

Read more »