2015 Faculty and Student Awards Celebration

Associate dean Steve Carvell presents the 2015 Drown Prize to Aaron Rouser '15

Associate dean Steve Carvell presents the 2015 Drown Prize to Aaron Rouser '15

The 2015 Faculty and Student Awards Celebration, held May 4, recognized outstanding achievements for the 2014-2015 academic year.

This annual event honors students representing a broad cross-section of SHA programs and recognizes faculty for excellence in teaching.

Congratulations to this year's winners!

Faculty Teaching Recognition Awards

  • Benjamin Lawrence, assistant professor, food and beverage management – freshman core
  • Pamela Moulton, associate professor, finance – sophomore core
  • Amy Newman, senior lecturer, management communication – junior/senior core
  • Stephani Robson, senior lecturer, properties development and management – nundergraduate elective
  • Helen Chun, assistant professor, services marketing – graduate elective
  • Walter Boudry, assistant professor, real estate – graduate core
  • Bruce Tracey, professor, human resources management – graduate core

Ted Teng '79 Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards

  • Bruce Tracey, professor, human resources management
  • Howard Chong, assistant professor, services marketing
  • Cheryl Stanley, lecturer, food and beverage management

CHR Industry Relevance Awards

  • Bill Carroll, clinical professor, services marketing – "Assessing the Benefits of Reward Programs: A Recommended Approach and Case Study from The Lodging Industry," co-authored with Michael McCall, PhD and Clay Voorhees, PhD (Michigan State University)

Student Awards

Degree Marshalls

  • Alex Fulmer '15 – first degree marshal
  • Brittney Ackerman '15 – second degree marshal

Banner Bearers

  • Alexis Sicklick '15 – first banner bearer
  • Max Bernstein '15 – first banner bearer

College Symbol Bearer

  • Kathleen Davin '15

Merrill Presidential Scholars

  • Brittney Ackerman '15
  • Alex Fulmer '15

Joseph Drown Special Prize

  • Aaron Rouser '15

Joseph Drown Special Prize Finalists

  • Francesca Filippini '15
  • Alex Fulmer '15
  • Arian Mahmoodi '15
  • Alexis Sicklick '15

Banfi Vintners Foundation Scholastic Tour Award

  • Chloe Arthur '15 (January graduate)

Julius Wile Commanderie de Bordeaux aux États Unis d’Amérique Bordeaux Education Prize

  • Maguire Parsons '15

R.C. Kopf Student Achievement Award

  • Kathryn Austin '15 (January graduate)
  • Kathleen Davin '15

Hotel Asset Managers Association Award

  • Yiwei Chen '16 and Yiming (Tia) Wei '16 – Out of Control Third Party Commissions

Cornell Hospitality Business Plan Competition hosted by the Pillsbury Institute for Hospitality Entrepreneurship

  • First Place Prize ($15,000) – Modern Market: Christina Elliott, MMH '15
  • Second Place Prize ($5,000) – Brew Me: Tucker Iida '16; Aigul Jumabayeva '16; Yundi (Lily) Gao, MPS '16
  • Third Place Prize ($2,500) – RedHead Wine: Zach Berle '15; Gavin Hilder '17; Marisa Sergi, CALS '15; Elizabeth Shvidky AEM '16

ACEF/SHA Writing Awards – Academic Year 2012-2013

  • Emil Alex '16, Hannapreet Basra '17, Candice Chan '17, Nicholas Milo '17, and Junhua Wu '17, "Women in Leadership: Stepping up the Corporate Ladder" (nominated by Kate Walsh, HADM 1150)
  • Meredith Baker '17, "Hilton Worldwide" (nominated by Peggy Odon-Reed, HADM 1650)
  • Zoya Segelbacher '14, "Analyzing the Service Operations of Aldi" (nominated by Sherri Kimes, HADM 3010)
  • Yilin Zhang '14, "Orbitz.com's new price steering strategy is an ethical and effective way to improve the user experience" (nominated by Amy Newman, HADM 3650)

HEC Unsung Hero Awards

  • Alvaro Alvarez '15
  • Andrew Frey '18
  • Aron Hollander '16
  • Ethyn Leong '18
  • Franklin Yang '17

More Spotlights

Support EBV

Support EBV

You can become part of this important effort to support our country’s veterans and to improve the nation’s business climate.

Read more »

Customized Online Programs from Cornell

Discover how Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts worked with Cornell to design and deliver a customized online learning program for its global Directors of Finance. Make it happen for your organization!

Read more »
HLDP Fellows visit Coors Field in Denver, CO

Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts signs on to sponsor HLDP

Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts Signs on to Sponsor HLDP

Read more »
Chuck Floyd, P '15 and '18

Featured Advisory Board Member: Chuck Floyd, P '15 and '18

Chuck Floyd is the global president of operations for Hyatt...

Read more »
Nathalie Corredor

Featured Advisory Board Member: Nathalie Corredor

Nathalie Corredor is senior vice president of strategy for Hilton Worldwide...

Read more »