SHA Faculty and Student Awards 2011

May 02, 2011

The School of Hotel Administration Faculty and Student Awards Ceremony was held April 26, 2011, in the Statler Auditorium. Congratulations to the following award winners:

Degree Marshals, Banner Bearers, & College Symbol Bearer
Ian Ratner ’11 – First Degree Marshal
Robert Brewer ’11 – Second Degree Marshal
Grace Oplinger ’11 – First Banner Bearer
Yue Woon Hiang ’11 – Second Banner Bearer
Stephen Hassman ’11 – College Symbol Bearer

Merrill Presidential Scholars
Ian Ratner ’11
Robert Brewer ’11

Teaching Assistant Awards
Maxine Hepfer ’13
Alex Philo ’12
Katie Satinsky ’13

Hotel Asset Managers Association Award
Teresa Lee ’11
Molly Pomeroy ’11
Bridgette Summers ’11

Banfi Vintners Foundation Scholastic Tour Award
Katie Tomechko ’11
John Michael Ridd ’11

Darden Restaurants Award of Excellence
Samuel Thorpe ’12

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Award (MMH Award)
Timothy Martin MMH ’11

Hyatt Student Prize (MMH Award)
Anna Francke MMH ’11

Julius Wile Commanderie de Bordeaux aux États Unis d’Amérique Bordeaux Education Prize
Diana Delli Santi ’11

R.C. Kopf Student Achievement Award
Maryam Ahmed ’11
Sarah Wickham ’11

Steamboat Foundation Summer Scholar Award
Katrina Lockwood ’11

Joseph Drown Special Prize
Katherine Kies ’11

Drown Prize Finalists:
Annie Mulcahy ’11
Ellie Proctor ’11
Willis Cheng ’11
Robert Brewer ’11

Center for Hospitality Research Emerging Scholar Awards
1st Place: Kathleen Ayers ’11
2nd Place (tie): Alisha Gulamani ’12
2nd Place (tie): Jenny Zhang ’11

PIHE Business Plan Competition
1st Place:
Andi Grossman MMH ’11
Rohan Gundala MMH ’11
Aditya Rajaram MMH ’11
Francesco Orofino MMH ’11

2nd Place:
Nivruti Allareddy MMH ’11
Yash Bhanage MMH ’11

3rd Place:
Alyssa Golub ’11
Tyler St. Pierre ’11
Dan Keilson ’11

Cornell Hospitality Business Plan Competition
1st Place:
Sam Boochever CALS ’11
Daniel Mann ’11

2nd Place:
Josh Aaronson MMH ’11
Nate Berkowitz MMH ’11
Alexis Donahue MMH ’11
Jessica Sackler MMH ’11
Sameer Seth MMH ’11

3rd Place:
Colette Chen CALS ’11
Elizabeth Convery MMH ’11
Mark Eckenroth MMH ’11
Samuel Thorpe ’12

SHA/ACEF (Adelphic Cornell Educational Fund) Writing Awards
Nominated by Associate Professor Kate Walsh for HA 1115:
Eric Brown ’13
Jessica Cheng ’13
Alyssa Ravenelle ’13
Charles Winslow ’13
Sara Yun ’13

Nominated by Dr. Stephani Robson for HA 2255:
Christy Ai ’12
Eric Rabinowitz ’12

Nominated by Senior Lecturer Reneta McCarthy for HA 4408:
Maryam Ahmed ’11

Nominated by Senior Lecturer Reneta McCarthy for HA 4491:
Isabelle Calderon ’10

SHA Organizations Recognition of Excellence Awards
Turbo Organization of the Year – Hotel Ezra Cornell
Most Improved Organization – Cornell Hotel Society
Spirit Award – Hotel Ambassadors
Event of the Year – Hotel Ezra Cornell
Rookie of the Year – Jeremy Tobin ’14, Cornell Hotel Society, and Nichole Wiggins ’14, CMAA
Most Valuable Board Member – Katrina Lee ’11, Cornell Hotel Society; and Shawn Weger ’11, Hotel Ambassadors
Leadership Award – Arielle Chernin ’11

Ted Teng ’79 Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards
Bill Carroll, senior lecturer in marketing and tourism
Helen Chun, assistant professor of marketing and tourism
Reneta McCarthy, lecturer in operations management
Dick Penner professor of facilities management, planning, and design
Giuseppe Pezzotti, senior lecturer of food and beverage management

Industry Relevance Awards
Rohit Verma, professor of operations management and executive director of the Center for Hospitality Research
Chris Anderson, assistant professor of operations management

Faculty Teaching Recognition Awards
Each year, Ye Hosts Honorary Society recognizes outstanding members of the School of Hotel Administration faculty for their teaching excellence and for their impact on students’ growth and development. Undergraduate and graduate students vote for faculty based on three criteria: classroom rigor, enthusiasm for teaching, and relationship with students.

Kate Walsh, Fred G. Peelen Professor of Hospitality Global Strategy – Freshman Core
Helen Chun, assistant professor of marketing and tourism – Sophomore Core
David Sherwyn, associate professor of law – Junior/Senior Core
Bill Carroll, senior lecturer in marketing and tourism – Elective
Jan deRoos, HVS Professor of Hotel Finance and Real Estate – Elective
Rohit Verma, professor of operations management – MMH Core