Deniz Omurgonulsen selected as new Cornell Hotel Society president

Feb 04, 2015

Media Contact: Zoya Segelbacher, 607.255.3742,

Ithaca, NY, February 4, 2015 - The School of Hotel Administration (SHA) at Cornell University announced that Deniz Omurgonulsen is the new president of the Cornell Hotel Society (CHS), the 86-year-old alumni association that represents SHA graduates in more than 50 active chapters worldwide. Omurgonulsen's twelve-month term as president began January 1, 2015.

Omurgonulsen, vice president of membership at the Leading Hotels of the World, will work closely with other CHS leaders to execute the strategic vision and mission of the society. She will lead CHS as the organization launches multiple online platforms to maximize alumni engagement, provides scholarship and development opportunities for SHA students, increases engagement between faculty and alumni, and collaborates with SHA to co-host leading industry events around the globe.

"It is an honor to serve as global president of the Cornell Hotel Society along with our first vice president Robert Mandelbaum '81, second vice president Cheryl Boyer '87, secretary Bill Minnock '79, and co-treasurers Dexter '87 and Susan Boyle '87 Wood," said Omurgonulsen. "We are proud to act as stewards of the society and to strengthen our network for the generations to come, celebrating what it means to be a 'Hotelie for Life.'"

At the Leading Hotels of the World, Omurgonulsen's responsibilities include managing development, the company's quality initiative, and business performance for the hotels in the portfolio. In her ten years with the company, she has also served as director of membership development and strategic planning manager. Prior to joining the Leading Hotels of the World, Omurgonulsen worked at Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts.

Omurgonulsen graduated with honors from SHA in 2000. A dedicated alumna, she has previously served as president of the CHS New York chapter and SHA class director. She is currently a member of the Cornell University Council, President's Council of Cornell Women, and SHA Dean's Advisory Board.